The organisation of the research is based on a dynamic and collegial structuring around 3 themes declined in 6 thematic research groups, and 4 methodological research groups. Each member of the unit can belong to 1, 2 or 3 groups through their work and projects.

The unit functions at three different levels: the management committee, the support unit, the scientific council and the unit council.

The valorisation, training and transfer dimensions of our research are integrated in a specific transversal  training/valorisation group, as well as one for communicating science to Society; Persons in charge these groups are also members of the Scientific Council.